The punk rock band The Offspring started making music under Manic Subsidal. They have been known to be one of the bands who resurrected the people’s interest in punk rock music. At present, The Offspring includes Dexter Holland on lead vocals and rhythm guitar, Greg Kriesel on lead bass, Kevin “Noodles” Wasserman on lead guitars, and Pete Parada on drums.


The Offspring evolved from the band Manic Subsidal formed by Holland and Kriesel which they formed right after they heard the album Change Today? by T.S.O.L. Doug Thompson and Jim Benton joined as the bands singer and drummer respectively. Marcus Parrish also joined as second guitarist while Holland took over the guitars. Holland became the vocalist when Thompson was expelled from the band while Benton was replaced by James Lilja. They were eventuatlly joined by Kevin “Noodles” Wasserman in 1985.


The band’s first single, I’ll Be Waiting, was released in 1986. Not long after the release of the song, Lilja quit playing for the band and Ron Welty took over his role.

In 1988, The Offspring’s self-titled album came out in 12” vinyl and cassette formats under Nemesis Records. Baghdad was released in 1991 in 7” EP format. It was followed by Ignition which came out in 1992. After the release of the two albums, the band went on tour in the U.S. with Pennywise and Lunachicks and in Europe together with NOFX.

The album Smash which was released in 1993 was the biggest selling album of The Offspring. It included the hit songs Come Out and Play, Self Esteem, and Gotta Get Away. It sold 16 million units which was the most number sold by an independent label band. The album was also widely acclaimed in other nations like Australia where it got the top spot on the ARIA charts in 1995.

Ixnay on the Hombre came out in 1995. The album was not as successful as Smash but it did fare well on the market. Some of the songs that were part of the album included All I Want, Gone Away, and I Choose.

American came out in 1998 containing some popular singles like Pretty Fly (for a White Guy), Why Don’t You Get a Job? and The Kids Aren’t Alright. After a year, they made an appearance in the film Idle Hands and at Woodstock 1999.

The next album that would be released by The Offspring was the Conspiracy on One which came out in 2000. The full album was intended to be released wholly online but legal issues prevented the band from doing so.

In 2003, Welty left the band and Atom Willard took his place. That same year, Splinter came out with its hit single, Hit That.

The Offspring compiled their best song in the Greatest Hits album which was released in 2005. Aside from the band’s more popular songs from the albums Smash until Splinter, the compilation included some unreleased songs like Can’t Repeat and Next to You.

The album Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace came out in 2008 with its first single Hammerhead. Its other song, You’re Gonna Go Far, Kid stayed on the Hot Modern Rock Tracks chart for a number of weeks. The release of Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace coincided with the release of the remastered versions of Ignition and Smash. Afterwards, the band went on tour and performed on several programs like the annual KROQ Almost Acoustic Christmas.

After a series of tours, The Offspring managed to finish and release their album, Days Go By in 2012. It included the previously released Days Go By and Cruising California (Bumpin’ in My Trunk). The release of the album was followed by several shows in Europe, the United States, and South America.