Siouxsie and the Banshees

Siouxsie and the Banshees was a rock band especially known for their punk rock music style which immediately developed into a more post-punk sound. Formed by Siouxsie Sioux and Steven Severin, it had been claimed as one of the greatest musical influences in the post-punk era as well as in the evolution of gothic rock music.


Siouxsie and Severin started playing music when they volunteered to perform at the 100 Club Punk Festival organized by Malcolm MacLaren (Sex Pistols’ manager) disregarding the fact that they lacked people who would play with them. They took the stage on September 20, 1976 with Marco Pirroni and Sid Vicious filling in for the roles of guitarist and drummer, respectively.

The group had an agreement to split up as soon as the gig was over but people took notice of them and they were invited to play for an audience again. After two months, Siouxsie and Severin got Kenny Morris on drums and Peter Fenton on guitars. Fenton would eventually be replaced by John McKay in 1977.


The band’s first single, Hong Kong Garden, came out in 1978 under Polydor. It received positive reviews and bagged the 10th spot on the UK charts.

The Banshees’ first album, The Scream, was released in November 1978. It was followed by Join Hands which came a year after. Morris and McKay quit the band while on tour and Siouxsie and Severin held auditions to find people that could fill in their positions. The Slits’ former drummer, Budgie, was hired while Robert Smith of The Cure served as a temporary guitarist.

The album Kaleidoscope came out in 1980 with the band’s new guitarist, John McGeoch. Showcasing a variety of musical styles and instruments, the album was received positively, snatching the 5th spot in the UK charts.

Juju came out in 1981, featuring songs which had darker tones. It hit the 7th place on the UK album charts, making it one of the band’s best-selling albums.

After the release of the critically acclaimed, A Kiss in the Dreamhouse in 1982, McGeoch was kicked out from the band because of his alcohol problems and Robert Smith came to play with the band again.

The next year, the members focused more on their side projects. However, the band still managed to release the cover of Dear Prudence which snagged the 3rd spot on the UK Singles Chart. The live album Nocturne also came out in music stores, followed by the release of Hyaena.

When Smith quit the band, John valentine Carruthers took over his position. They then released the EP The Thorn and subsequently, the album Tinderbox in 1985. Siouxsie and the Banshees also made an album of cover songs entitled Through the Looking Glass which came out in 1987.

For the recording of Peepshow in 1988, the band hired two new members, the keyboardist Martin McCarrick and guitarist Jon Klein. The album was gained praises from a lot of people especially the song Peek-a-Boo.

The band’s next single, Kiss Them for Me, was released in 1991. Featuring an Asian Tabla player and singer, the song was received positively by listeners and it reached the 23rd place on the Billboard Hot 100. The song was followed by the release of Superstition not long after.

In 1995, the album The Rapture was released and a year after its release, Siouxsie and the Banshees disbanded as the members pursued their careers in music separately.